Flash Fiction – The Girl, The Undead, and the Grounds Keeper (Pt1)

Flash Fiction – The Girl, the Undead, and the Grounds Keeper (Part 1) Once there was a young woman who woke up in darkness. She rubbed her eyes, felt around, and her fingertips found softness, like that of a stuff animal clung tight in the night. The air was dark, warm, but a chill spread across her skin, and her nightgown was damp with sweat. Her nights consisted of whispers to the ghosts and the dead and the near dead. The young woman was none of these things, yet she, in her youth and innocence, the same way that new skin bounces back fast, allowed her–no, cursed her–to see and…

Read More

Collide Into You is .99 cents

Seriously, what’cha waiting on? My full-length (400pg) non-cliffhanger romantic comedy is 99 cents for a short time. After tomorrow, it goes up by one dollar, until it’s back to its regular price of 4.99 Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon AU | Amazon CA | GoodReads | Excerpt An Army Sergeant (who loves rules and order) moves in with her brother’s best friend (a womanizer who loves breaking the rules)… What can possibly go wrong? When twenty-seven-year-old Keira Holtslander, an orderly and rule-loving intelligence analyst, is reassigned to the Pentagon for a special assignment, she agrees to room with her brother’s best friend, Dillan Pope. But there’s a problem.…

Read More

Saturday Snippet

Happy Saturday! We’re having lukewarm – but wet – weather here in Washington, D.C. I’m diligently working the final edits for The Daughter of Lava, #3 Reclaimed Souls. Below is a snippet. In this scene, Roland, Rahda, and Roland’s young cousin (Elwyn) leave Royal Alcove, and try to bring Elwyn back to the palace. Things do not go according to plan. Happy reading! <3 Kelly Once we step outside, Elwyn’s expression is hidden in the ebony darkness. I find it interesting that she hasn’t once asked about her father or why he wasn’t coming with us. Does she already know the real reason? There’s a snap to the air with…

Read More

Saturday Snippet

Happy Saturday, Lovelies! Here’s a sneak peek at a scene between Rahda and Roland in book 3 (The Daughter of Lava). Our quarreling lovers are at Lord Jaucey’s mansion (Jaucey is Roland’s uncle), and Rahda’s about to do what she does best. “Queens don’t often assassinate their rivals,” Roland says. I scoff. “It’s a ‘learning on the job’ sort of position. Feel free to hand over your copy of ‘Becoming a queen in ten easy steps or less’ manual. Fuck it all, Roland. Would you rather take care of Jaucey? Chances are he’d prefer your equipment over mine.” “Yes, actually, I would,” he says quickly, but then realizes what he…

Read More

Romance, Heroes, and Scars

The ladies over at the Australian Romance Readers Association (ARRA) hosted me today. Go check out my essay / article on “Romance, Heroes, and Scars“. I had a blast writing the article, and the ladies over at ARRA were incredibly nice to allow me to contribute to their website.    

Read More

The Queen of Scarred Hearts is available for pre-order

Available September 1, 2015 THE QUEEN OF SCARRED HEARTS (Reclaimed Souls Volume 2) The Queen of Scarred Hearts is the second installment in the four-volume epic journey of Rahda and Roland in a heart pounding blend of romance, fantasy, science fiction, and adventure — perfect for fans of Kushiel’s Dart, Cruel Beauty, Graceling, and Sea of Shadows. Caught in a web between the opposing rulers of Izkirka and Aschalle, Rahda struggles to accept her newfound title as Lady Sevradan while reconciling her former life as a prized disciple and assassin. Before she can come to terms with the new arrangement, once-buried secrets and a renewed threat sends her fleeing the…

Read More

New Release!

New Release! THE PALE WATERS, # 1 of the Reclaimed Souls Series. The Pale Waters begins the four-volume epic journey of Rahda and Roland in a heart-pounding blend of romance, fantasy, science fiction, and adventure, perfect for fans of Kushiel’s Dart, Cruel Beauty, Graceling, and Sea of Shadows. Summoned by Izkirka’s mysterious ruler, class-zero citizen Rahda clashes with Prince Roland Rexus in a battle of lies, secrets, and seduction. She’s been sent to kill him, he knows it, and, strangely enough, he does nothing to actively stop her. But once she’s in the presence of the man who everyone calls a dark prince, everything begins to unravel. The disfigured prince…

Read More

Three Year Anniversary

A little over three years ago, January 16, 2012 to be exact, I published my first short story, Smolder, on the Amazon KDP platform. I was testing the waters and since then, I haven’t looked back. While Smolder isn’t my best, it paved the way for other stories, and gave me the confidence to write what I wanted, when I wanted, and how I wanted. No rules. No deadlines (except those self-imposed). There was nothing to stop me from writing whatever came into my mind. And do you know what most often comes into my mind, after romance? Scars… flaws… interesting characters… flawed but interesting characters. After writing a trio…

Read More

Free is Better!

Freebie # 1 – Collide Into You From November 28-29, 2014 (Fri & Sat), my newest contemporary romance novel is free. Bickering (and secretly-in-love) roommates Keira and Dillan learn that falling in love isn’t so easy when a meddling barista puts a charm on the roommates, causing them to swap bodies. How they deal with the swap–and each other–is at times hysterical and sweet. A funny (and charming) contemporary romance that’s perfect for the holidays. For my Falling For Him series fans, you’ll love the fact that Justin, Aaron, and Nebraska play supporting characters in Collide Into You. Get Collide Into You at Amazon US, Amazon CA, Amazon UK, Amazon…

Read More

5 Stars: Only Enchanting by Mary Balogh

Wow! Mary Balogh does it again! I was super thrilled to learn that I won an uncorrected proof from the publisher. It came in the mail a few days later. I had hoped for the version with the actual cover, but it came, instead in a pale greenish-blue cover, rather than the lovely image shown on GoodReads. However, this in no way detracted from the story. Only Enchanting is the fourth book in Mary Balogh’s Survivors’ Club series and it centers on Flavian Arnott, Viscount Ponsonby. Several years back, Flavian was severely wounded during the Napoleonic War, after having received a major injury to his head, which, for several years,…

Read More