Saturday Snippet

Happy Saturday! We’re having lukewarm – but wet – weather here in Washington, D.C. I’m diligently working the final edits for The Daughter of Lava, #3 Reclaimed Souls.

Below is a snippet.

In this scene, Roland, Rahda, and Roland’s young cousin (Elwyn) leave Royal Alcove, and try to bring Elwyn back to the palace.

Things do not go according to plan.

Happy reading!

<3 Kelly

Once we step outside, Elwyn’s expression is hidden in the ebony darkness. I find it interesting that she hasn’t once asked about her father or why he wasn’t coming with us. Does she already know the real reason?

There’s a snap to the air with the occasional breeze ruffling our hair. Elwyn’s unbound hair flutters about like strands of black ribbons.

“Why didn’t you attend the celebration?” I ask as we walk through the gate.

She thinks Roland made her queen, which means she doesn’t know about me. When she does, I have a feeling she will become incredibly unhappy.

Beside me, Roland listens intently.

“I usually don’t respond to imbeciles,” she says in what I presume is her regal voice. “But I’ll make an exception in your case. I don’t know what you think you know, but I promise that you’re so far off base that you won’t know what hit you until all of your limbs have been removed and you’re six feet under.”

Under her smooth, youthful skin are the trappings of an ogre.

“Is that a particular threat just for me, or to everyone in general?” I ask.

“Assume whatever you like, of course,” she answers. “My only regret will be in not seeing your ugly face as you discover it all.”

New Release!

The-Pale-Waters-Web-Small

New Release! THE PALE WATERS, # 1 of the Reclaimed Souls Series.

The Pale Waters begins the four-volume epic journey of Rahda and Roland in a heart-pounding blend of romance, fantasy, science fiction, and adventure, perfect for fans of Kushiel’s Dart, Cruel Beauty, Graceling, and Sea of Shadows.

Summoned by Izkirka’s mysterious ruler, class-zero citizen Rahda clashes with Prince Roland Rexus in a battle of lies, secrets, and seduction. She’s been sent to kill him, he knows it, and, strangely enough, he does nothing to actively stop her.

But once she’s in the presence of the man who everyone calls a dark prince, everything begins to unravel. The disfigured prince has his own reasons for summoning the woman meant to kill him; reasons that will alter Rahda’s perception of the world around her. Within a matter of days, she’s thrust into an unfamiliar society with an untrustworthy prince, and becomes involved in a war she never knew existed.

Rahda’s no longer sure where she fits in when she uncovers the truth about Roland, and about herself.

The Pale Waters, the first novella in the Reclaimed Souls Series, will have readers asking themselves, “Who Owns Your Soul?”

The Pales Waters is part of Kindle Unlimited, so readers who subscribe can read this novella as part of their KU Subscription. Readers not subscribed can buy The Pale Waters for $2.99.

Keywords: romance, science fiction, fantasy, paranormal, aliens, metaphysical, dystopian, sword, sorcery, robots, devil, demon, psychic, witch, spies, nobility, millionaire, medical, second chance, deities, artificial intelligence, mutants, mystery, thriller, spiritual, magic, quest, genes, exploration, action, adventure, alien, death, loss, grief, childhood, friendship, war, religion, bisexual, interracial, urban, suspense

This novella is 42,000 words (~230 pages) and is the first novella in a four-novella series. It ends in a cliffhanger.